ESMA recognises four new Third Country CCPs


The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), the EU’s financial markets regulator and supervisor, has recognised four additional third country CCPs (TC-CCPs) under Article 25 of the European Market Infrastructure Regulation (EMIR), bringing the total number of TC-CCPs recognised by ESMA to 39.

The newly recognised TC-CCPs are:

  • Bursa Malaysia Derivatives Clearing Berhad (Malaysia);
  • Taiwan Futures Exchange Corporation (Taiwan);
  • Cámara de Riesgo Central de Contraparte de Colombia S.A. (Colombia); and
  • Tel-Aviv Stock Exchange Clearing House Ltd (Israel).

The recognition of these four TC-CCPs follows the conclusion of standard Memoranda of Understanding (MoUs) between ESMA and their respective supervisory authorities, namely the Securities Commission Malaysia, the Financial Supervisory Commission Taiwan, the Superintendencia Financiera de Colombia and the Israel Securities Authority.

Update on recognition withdrawals

The withdrawal of recognition of the following six TC-CCPs established in India took effect on 30 April 2023:

  • The Clearing Corporation of India (CCIL), supervised by the Reserve Bank of India (RBI);
  • Indian Clearing Corporation Limited (ICCL), supervised by the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI);
  • NSE Clearing Limited (NSCCL), supervised by SEBI;
  • Multi Commodity Exchange Clearing (MCXCCL), supervised by SEBI;
  • India International Clearing Corporation (IFSC) Limited (IICC), supervised by the International Financial Services Centre Authority (IFSCA); and
  • NSE IFSC Clearing Corporation Ltd (NICCL), supervised by the IFSCA.

ESMA now has 25 cooperation arrangements for TC-CCP supervision with supervisory authorities from 20 third countries.

ESMA has updated its list of recognised third-country central counterparties (TC CCPs) accordingly.


Further information:

Sarah Edwards

Senior Communications Officer

More on the same topic