Management Board

The Management Board ensures that ESMA carries out all its missions.

In addition to the Chair, the Management Board is composed of six members selected from the Board of Supervisors by its members. The Executive Director, and a representative from the Commission attend as non-voting participants (except on budget matters where the Commission has a vote).

The main role of the Management Board is to ensure that the Authority carries out its mission and performs the tasks assigned to it in accordance with the ESMA Regulation and in particular focuses on the management aspects of the Authority, such as the development and implementation of a multi-annual Work Programme, as well as budget and staff resource matters.

In accordance with Article 47(7) of the ESMA Regulation 1095/2010, the Management Board has adopted Rules of Procedure.



ESMA Chair Verena Ross
Austria Austria Finanzmarktaufsicht (FMA) Eduard Müller
Germany Germany Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin) Thorsten Pötzsch
Ireland​ Ireland Central Bank of Ireland Derville Rowland
Greece Greece Ελληνική Επιτροπή Κεφαλαιαγοράς/Hellenic Capital Markets Commission (HCMC) Vasiliki Lazarako
Netherlands Netherlands Autoriteit Financiële Markten (AFM) Jos Heuvelman
Spain Spain Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV) Rodrigo Buenaventura
ESMA Executive Director (Non-voting Member) Natasha Cazenave
ESMA Vice-Chair (Observer) Vojtěch Belling
European Commission Non-voting Member Ugo Bassi