Skip to main content



Search form

Anneli Tuominen to act as Interim Chair of ESMA

31 March 2021

The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), the EU’s securities markets regulator, current Vice-Chair Anneli Tuominen, and Director-General at the FIN-FSA, will act as Interim Chair until the next Chair takes office. This is effective from 1 April 2021. 

Steven Maijoor’s second 5 year mandate as Chair came to an end on 31 March 2021. ESMA, in line with the ESMA Regulation, submitted on 26 November 2020 the shortlisted candidates for the position of Chair to the Council of the European Union to appoint the next Chair after confirmation by the European Parliament.