Skip to main content



Search form

Management Board

Management Board

The Management Board ensures that ESMA carries out all its missions.


    In addition to the Chair, the Management Board is composed of six members selected from the Board of Supervisors by its members. The Executive Director, and a representative from the Commission attend as non-voting participants (except on budget matters where the Commission has a vote).

    The main role of the Management Board is to ensure that the Authority carries out its mission and performs the tasks assigned to it in accordance with the ESMA Regulation and in particular focuses on the management aspects of the Authority, such as the development and implementation of a multi-annual Work Programme, as well as budget and staff resource matters.

    In accordance with Article 47(7) of the ESMA Regulation 1095/2010, the Management Board has adopted Rules of Procedure.

     ESMA icon ESMA

    Chair Verena Ross
    Austria Austria Finanzmarktaufsicht (FMA) Eduard Müller

     Czech Republic Czechia

    Česká národní banka (CNB) Vojtech Belling
    Germany Germany Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin) Thorsten Pötzsch
     Ireland​ Ireland Central Bank of Ireland Derville Rowland

    Greece Greece

    Ελληνική Επιτροπή Κεφαλαιαγοράς/Hellenic Capital Markets Commission (HCMC) Vasiliki Lazarakou
    Spain Spain Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV) Rodrigo Buenaventura

     ESMA icon ESMA

    Executive Director (Non-voting Member) Natasha Cazenave
    ESMA icon ESMA Vice-Chair (Observer) Erik Thedéen

    European Commission

    Non-voting Member Ugo Bassi