

PRESS RELEASE

ESMA reappoints three members of its Management Board

The European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA), the EU's securities markets' regulator, has reappointed three current members of its Management Board for a further 2½ year term that will begin on 1 October 2019. The members current terms will expire on 30 September 2019. The appointments took place at the Board of Supervisors meeting in Paris on 11 July and are:

- Robert Ophèle, Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), France;
- Sebastian Albella-Amigo, Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV), Spain; and
- Erik Thedéen, Finansinspektionen (FI), Sweden.

The Management Board, chaired by Steven Maijoor, Chair of ESMA, is responsible for ensuring that the Authority carries out its mission and performs the tasks assigned to it under its founding Regulation. The Management Board now consists of:

- Steven Maijoor, European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA);
- Elisabeth Roegele, Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin), Germany;
- Sebastian Albella-Amigo, Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV), Spain;
- Robert Ophèle, Autorité des Marchés Financiers (AMF), France;
- Derville Rowland, Central Bank of Ireland (CBI);
- Gabriela Figueiredo Dias, Comissão do mercado de valores mobiliários (CMVM), Portugal; and
- Erik Thedéen, Finansinspektionen (FI), Sweden.

Extension of Standing Committee Chairs Terms

The Board of Supervisors also decided to extend the mandate of several standing committee chairs, which were coming to an end in in September 2019, until January 2020. This was done in the context ESMA's forthcoming work on the implementation of the changes associated with EMIR 2.2 and the ESAs Review which will involve reviewing the Standing Committee



The standing committees and chairs concerned are:

- Committee for Economics and Markets Analysis Carmine Di Noia, (CONSOB, Italy);
- Corporate Finance Standing Committee Benoît de Juvigny (AMF, France);
- Corporate Reporting Standing Committee Ana Martinez Pina (CNMV, Spain);
- Market Integrity Standing Committee Nicoletta Giusto (CONSOB, Italy);
- Financial Innovation Standing Committee Jean-Paul Servais (FSMA, Belgium);
- Investor Protection and Intermediaries Standing Committee Evert van Walsum (ESMA) interim until new chair appointed;
- Post-Trading Standing Committee Robert Ophele (AMF, France);
- Secondary Markets Standing Committee Elisabeth Roegele (BaFIN, Germany); and
- Commodity Derivatives Task Force Elisabeth Roegele (BaFIN, Germany).

ESMA's standing committees are expert groups drawn from ESMA staff and the national competent authorities for securities markets regulation in the Member States and are responsible for the development of policy in their respective areas.



Notes for editors

- 1. Further information on the Management Board can be found here.
- 2. The Board of Supervisors is the main decision-taking body of ESMA, consisting of the heads of the 28 national supervisors chaired by Steven Maijoor, ESMA Chair.
- 3. Further details of the work of ESMA's <u>standing committees</u> can be found on its website.
- 4. ESMA's mission is to enhance investor protection and promote stable and orderly financial markets.

It achieves these objectives through four activities:

- i. assessing risks to investors, markets and financial stability;
- ii. completing a single rulebook for EU financial markets;
- iii. promoting supervisory convergence; and
- iv. directly supervising specific financial entities.
- 5. ESMA achieves its mission within the European System of Financial Supervision (ESFS) through active cooperation with the European Banking Authority (EBA), the European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority (EIOPA), the European Systemic Risk Board, and with national authorities with competencies in securities markets (NCAs).

Further information:

David Cliffe

Team Leader - Communications Tel: +33 (0)1 58 36 43 24 Email: press@esma.europa.eu