

PRESS RELEASE

ESMA appoints new chairs to Standing Committees

The Board of Supervisors of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA) has appointed the following individuals to serve as chairs of its standing committees:

- Lourdes Centeno, Vice Chair of the Comisión Nacional del Mercado de Valores (CNMV), Spain, will chair the Review Panel;
- Hannelore Lausch, Executive Director, Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin), Germany, will chair the Corporate Reporting Standing Committee;
- David Lawton, Director of the Markets Policy and International Division, Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), will chair the Market Data Standing Committee;
- Elizabeth Roegele, Chief Executive Director of Securities Supervision, Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht (BaFin), Germany, will chair the Secondary Markets Standing Committee;
- Jean-Paul Servais, Chairman of the Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA), Belgium, will chair the Financial Innovation Standing Committee; and
- Martin Wheatley, Chief Executive of the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA), United Kingdom, will chair the Investor Protection and Intermediaries Standing Committee.

The following chairs have had their tenures renewed:

- Konstantinos Botopoulos, Chair of the Hellenic Capital Markets Commission (HCMC), Greece, as chair of the Market Integrity Standing Committee;
- Gareth Murphy, Director of Markets at the Central Bank of Ireland as chair the Investment Management Standing Committee;
- Gerard Rameix, Chairman of the Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), France, as chair the Corporate Finance Standing Committee; and
- Giuseppe Vegas, Chairman of Commissione Nazionale per le Società e la Borsa (CONSOB), Italy, as chair of the Post-Trading Standing Committee.



The standing committees are expert groups drawn from ESMA staff and the national competent authorities for securities markets regulation in the Member States, and are responsible for the development of policy in their respective areas. The appointments are for a period of two years and will commence on 1 October 2015. Further details on the committees' work is available on ESMA's <u>website</u>.



Notes for editors

- ESMA is an independent EU Authority that was established on 1 January 2011 and works closely with the other European Supervisory Authorities responsible for banking (EBA), and insurance and occupational pensions (EIOPA), and the European Systemic Risk Board (ESRB).
- 2. ESMA's mission is to enhance the protection of investors and promote stable and well-functioning financial markets in the European Union (EU). As an independent institution, ESMA achieves this aim by building a single rule book for EU financial markets and ensuring its consistent application across the EU. ESMA contributes to the regulation of financial services firms with a pan-European reach, either through direct supervision or through the active co-ordination of national supervisory activity.

Further information:

David Cliffe

Team Leader - Communications Tel: +33 (0)1 58 36 43 24 Mob: +33 6 42 48 29 06 Email: <u>press@esma.europa.eu</u>