Who is who

Steven Maijoor


Steven Maijoor is the Chair of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA).  He took up office on 1 April 2011 and is the first chair of the authority and has been appointed for a term of 5 years.  He is responsible for chairing ESMA’s Board of Supervisors and Management Board.

Prior to taking up this role, Steven was Managing Director at the AFM, the Dutch financial markets regulator, where he was responsible for, amongst other areas, overseeing the integrity of financial markets, financial reporting and auditing, and prospectuses and public offerings.  In his regulatory role Steven has held a number of international positions, including the Chairmanship of IFIAR (International Forum of Independent Audit Regulators).

Before joining the AFM, Steven was the Dean of the School of Business and Economics at Maastricht University, and had pursued a long career in academia which included a variety of positions at Maastricht University and the University of Southern California.

He holds a PhD in Business Economics on the regulation of financial reporting from Maastricht University, and is currently a Professor at the Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam.

His calendar, including meetings with external stakeholders, can be found here.

The calendar of meetings for 2013 can be found here.

A large photograph for use by journalists is available in the photo library.

Verena Ross

Executive Director

Verena Ross is the Executive Director of the European Securities and Markets Authority (ESMA). She was appointed to the role in March 2011 and joined ESMA on 1 June 2011. She is the first Executive Director of the organisation and forms part of the senior management team along with the Chair of ESMA. The Executive Director has responsibility for the day-to-day running of the organisation.

Prior to this, Verena held a number of senior posts in the UK's Financial Services Authority (FSA), with her final position being Director of the International Division from October 2009 to May 2011. Verena was also a member of the FSA's Executive Committee and the Executive Policy and Risk Committees.

Verena joined the FSA in 1998 to run the Executive Chairman’s office during the regulator’s start-up phase, and was briefly a seconded advisor to the Hong Kong Securities and Futures Commission in 2000. She subsequently held various positions in the Markets Division and was Director the Strategy & Risk Division before becoming Director of the International Division.

She began her career at the Bank of England in 1994, where she worked as an economist and then banking supervisor, following studies in Hamburg, Taipei and London (SOAS).

Her calendar, including meetings with external stakeholders, can be found under here.

The calendar for 2013 can be found here.

A large photograph for use by journalists is available in the photo library.

Carlos Tavares

Vice Chair

Carlos Tavares chaired CESR from July to December 2010 and served as Vice-Chairman from February 2009. He has been Chairman of the Comissao do Mercado de Valores Mobiliarios (the CMVM) since October 2005. Before joining the CMVM, Mr Tavares was the head of the Bureau of European policy Advisers to the President of the European Commission, after having been Minister of Economy in the government of José Manuel Barroso. Prior to this, Mr Tavares has occupied a number of governmental positions, such as Member of the EEC Monetary Committee, Secretary of State for the Treasury, member of the EC Economic Policies Coordination Group and Director of the Research Department of the Ministry of Finance. In his professional life, Mr Tavares has held a number of positions within financial institutions, and has also academic experience as a teaching assistant in the field of econometrics and macroeconomics. Mr Tavares studied economics at Oporto University.